new world order [ 2004-01-16, 11:49 a.m. ]

I've been staring at this blank page for a while. Nothing witty to say.

The whale tears have stopped. For now. I am such a sensitive little mermaid-type-thing.

Why doesn't someone have some sense and change the working hours in the winter. The number of working hours should be somehow proportional to the number of hours of daylight. It's only common sense. Animals do it. They sleep when it's dark, hunt or forage when it's light. Unless they are nocturnal. Night shift workers could work as much as they want.

Let's say, summertime, there's max, 15 hours of daylight, maybe, for example, (6am-9pm), and I'm being really generous here with the daylight thing. So you work 8 hours (including lunch). Now the amount of daylight goes down to, um, let's say, 9 hours in the dead of winter (7am-4pm). Therefore work hours should be reduced to about 4.8, we'll give you 5, hours (take an hour for lunch). Then there's more time to sleep, hibernate, be introspective, go home and write in your journal. Doesn't that make more sense? Of course, I'm obviously at work and have just used valuable work time to figure that out, probably more so than necessary but I suck at math.

Okay, as I sit here pondering my new world order, it is quite obvious that I need a new job. When I surf through ads and job websites, all I can find are either a)jobs I am qualified for but don't want because they are very similar to this one, and b) jobs which I might like to have but don't have the education, and I'm not really SURE I'd like it enough to start going to school for it. Which leads to the question of going back to school, which costs money, which requires a really serious decision about going back to school.

Hrm. The problem is not that I can't do anything; it's that I can do a lot of things, but I don't know what thing will make me happy, careerwise.

I just erased a whole spiel on the above paragraph, because I'm tired of talking about this all the time.

Fuck it.

D

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~