a scary night at the bar [ 2005-01-13, 11:57 a.m. ]

Hi Diary,

Once again I appear to be reaching my annoyance threshold.

Aleda is having a total breakdown of sorts. She got fired from her job (no surprise, since she was less than helpful there, and would either have emotional breakdowns or leave when she was upset). She is having trouble with money, and managing everything, and wanted to talk about it last night.

And, on the other hand, she has not been the nicest person to me. She is sarcastic and critical of how I live my live, and 30 minutes before she wanted me to comfort her on the state of her being, she was so smug and irritating that I wanted to choke her.

Yes, I was actually wishing she would get deported, but unfortunately she is a citizen of the U.S. The real reason we are friends, is because we have kind of been thrown together, and don't have a choice but to see her in the circles I travel in.

Anyway, by the time she reached her "now listen to me and comfort me and feel sorry for me" stage, I had none of it left in me. I did the best I could to be nice, but then excused myself. There is only so much abuse I can take before I've just had enough! Aleda is extremely beautiful, if the two of us were walking down the street, men just stare at her. She complains that men hit on her wherever she goes; she talks about that constantly. Myself, and Rachel, and Emily, we don't have that problem, so we just sit and listen. No, we don't know what that feels like.

So the combination of her beauty, how people favor her for her beauty, despite the fact that she's not a nice person 80% of the time-- her self-involvement and crass treatment of others just got me fed up last night.

I was supposed to meet Stacey, since she is still here, and when I went to check my phone, I had a message from Stan. I had totally forgotten that I blew Stan off on Sunday-- we were supposed to get together for a meal, but I just didn't want to see him-- so I said I wasn't feeling well, and he suggested we get together last night. Well, I forgot that Stacey would be here, so I forgot about that, and then I forgot about him. Shit. So, to be nice, I called and invited him out with Stacey and I. We would already be in a group of her friends, so I figured, life would be easier in a group situation. We met at a bar, and wouldn't you know that Stan, somehow, was best friends with an ex-girlfriend of one of Stacey's friends-- I'll give you a minute to read that again.

**
Okay. And, this guy doesn't like Stan, because Stan was never nice to him while that couple was going out... it was obvious there were some harsh feelings at the table, and I felt really bad for Stacey's friend, whom I immediately liked better than Stan.

He hung in there with us, but I just think Stan is too uptight, and tries too hard to be cool. Stacey wasn't making things any better by pointing out that I had no drink, and wasn't Stan officially my date, so shouldn't he be fetching me a drink? I was trying not to listen, because in my head I was thinking, "Oh, please, do not convince him he is my date, or else he is going to try to kiss me or something," didn't matter anyway, because for some reason Stan refused to get up and get me drinks, he presented some argument that I missed completely due to my desperate attempts to plunge myself in other conversations to avoid him.... at one point one of the women was telling Stan he was pretty lame-- it felt like all of Stacey's friends were attacking him on some level-- but I don't know if Stan caught on to that or not.

At any rate, we all parted late into the night, there was no time for Stan to make any kind of special overtures, and that was the end of that. Perhaps all of Stacey's scary, drunk angry friends have shooed Stan away for good.

Maybe I can send them after Aleda next.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~