job search in a too short dress and blistered feet [ 2006-05-30, 7:31 p.m. ]

Hi Diary,

Today was one of those days. I tried to wake up early, to no avail. I was having a really great dream about a beautiful vine-covered house in the jungle. I didn't want to leave.

I finally got out of the house, went to the bank, withdrew some money to pay rent. Then, I went to distribute some flyers. By the time I was at the bank, I realized I had put sandals on that I haven't worn in awhile, and they were giving me a blister on my third toe. Also my dress started feeling too short, and I kept feeling like people were staring at me.

Then I went to apply for a job at a store I want to work in. Actually, the store I want to work in is just a few blocks from my house, but when I went there to apply, they told me that I had to go talk to the owner, who works in a store in a different part of town. So, I had to travel across town, to... a rather gritty neighborhood. In my too-short dress and blistered feet, when I arrived at the store, they told me the owner had just left. I asked if I could fill out an application to work in the place near me. The girl behind the counter, a bored-looking beauty perhaps in her twenties, said, "Well, we don't really have applications, and she's really not going to hire you unless she sees you," to which, trying not to show my deep exasperation at this point, I said, "Well, how about I leave my information so she can call me, and we can arrange to meet at a time when she's here?" It all seemed like common sense to me, which the counter girl seemed to lack.

So, I don't know if I made a bad impression - if the counter girl could pick up that I thought she was stupid- maybe she threw my number out as soon as I left. But I tried, dammit! I tried really hard, considering I had to go all the way across town to apply for a job two blocks away.

I suppose, I shall apply at other places too. For now, I must put on sweatpants and soak my tired feet.

Love,
Duck

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~