checking in on a lazy day [ 2006-12-18, 4:28 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Hi there- yes, I know. I have been so busy, occasionally checking in to read, but not writing at all.

Things with work are very good, busy. Except at this time of year it doesn't much feel like it matters, because I have been spending all my money on gifts, and travel tickets to go see my family....

sigh.

And, I've been seeing Don on a regular basis. I've been going on dates with other guys, just dinner and stuff, but I haven't really met anyone that I'm attracted to like Don. I've been seeing this guy Steve, who takes me out now and then, but he is wound a little tight. I feel like he's trying really hard to impress me, but all it does is make me tense around him.

Don on the other hand is a different story. It feels really natural, and like we have a similar sense of humor. I've been thinking of asking him if he'd like to see me exclusively, but then I wonder if it's too soon for that. We've already had a couple conversations about how he feels a little scared because this is the most vulnerable he's ever been with anyone. We haven't even had sex.

I figure I will just wait and see how things are after the holidays, and if it's meant to be we'll just keep getting closer. If not, I guess that's okay too.

Last night Don took me out to his brother's holiday party, so I got to meet one member of his family. Never mind that while I was off talking to someone, I could overhear him talking about the other woman he's dating, that she drinks and smokes and parties a lot. I guess he was remarking to his friend about the differences... it bothered me for about 39 seconds and then it didn't, which is interesting. I am trying not to jump the gun and project a whole bunch of stuff on this guy, like I normally do. My normal M.O. has been to like somebody, and then create a fantasy all around them. I'm trying to stay in a place where I'm saying to myself, ok, I don't really know him that well, so let's see what else there is to find out.

Also Don took me to his apartment and I stayed the night. His apartment was a little dismal for me, but I told myself what can you expect from men? Men aren't really into decorating and making things nice. I could tell he tried really hard to clean it up though, so that's nice.

So I really need to get moving now and go to work. It has been an extremely lazy day, of which I am glad.

Love,
Duck

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~