small victories, reversed [ 2008-02-02, 3:48 p.m. ]

Hi Diary,

Today was interesting in that everything I was celebrating yesterday fell apart! But actually, I'm not feeling too bad about it.

First of all, once again I couldn't sleep. But, I decided that I was still getting up early-ish, as I had made a commitment to meet Chandra at noon, and then go to Gail's house. (Chandra is a friend I've know for a couple of years. She does charts and cards and I see her every now and then. Well, her boyfriend just broke up with her, and she's kind of a mess).

First thing when I got up, I noticed a message from Gail- canceling our weekend together. She said she had completely forgotten that her mother, and her kids, and her son's girlfriend, and the girlfriend's kid- were all coming over for an early breakfast on Sunday. I was still invited to come for the weekend, but Gail and her mother really don't get along well, and she warned me that it could be unpleasant. It didn't sound like the girl weekend I had envisioned, so I opted out. But I had to get up to go hook up with Chandra anyway.

I just knew this was the Universe trying to teach me something, so I agreed to meet her. It's almost unbearable for me to be around this, considering what I'm going through, but I decided there must be something for me to learn about myself. I'm still not sure what it is. We talked, she cried- she knows that it's over, she knows she was trying to change this guy to be something he can't, and she knows he's already found someone else. But she seems to be in a pretty good place, considering.

Last night in the midst of my insomnia I tried my new headset, and basically my phone rejected it. As soon as I plugged it in, "Accessory Not Supported" flashed on my screen. I was so upset, and I took the headset backed to the store and tried to find out what's up. In the true tradition of the Hand-Me-Down Girl, of course I don't have a new or fancy phone. My phone is a low grade model that's probably over two years old now. The guy at the store said that my phone was probably too old to take on the technology. He suggested a new phone or a blueto0th, but I don't want either one of those. I want less chance of tumor, hence the need for a wired headset. The only other ones they had were the ones with the dangling mic, and I'm really clear I don't want that- I want the "secretary style" headset.

So off to another store I went, this time the phone store where I got my phone originally. Again, for my model, they only had dangling mics. I was bummed, but asked the salesman if he thought I could get what I'm looking for online. He was pretty sure I could- so it looks like there's still an opportunity for victory- it's just going to take a little more effort. Sometimes taking care of yourself does take effort.

I called Red, but he didn't answer. I guess I should have just kept my original plans with him.

And now I'm home. On another Saturday night, superbowl weekend so everybody's going to be busy... shit. It seems that everytime I try to make plans for the weekend they fall through. Maybe I'm just not meant to escape my feelings.

Guess the Universe is making sure of that.

Later.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~