dreams and earaches! [ 2008-12-19, 2:47 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Oh geez. It's been a hell of a couple of days. Yesterday I awoke expecting to feel better but I did NOT, Diary! I was hoping to feel well enough to go to dance class, and I took a nap in the middle of the day. You know how sometimes you take a shower and it can just shift your whole day and make you feel a whole lot better? I thought I'd try that but I realized that even in a hot shower I still felt like shit. So no dancing. WHICH SUCKS!

I did however keep my dinner date. I had a gift certificate for a very fancy restaurant and Red and I have been trying to get there for three months now! So I went... as the night went on I felt a little better but not by much. They sat us right under the speaker, and my head already felt like it was stuffed with cotton batting, so that was rough. Red had brought along a friend who just flew into town. The high point was definitely the food, and my entree was even a bit spicy so it cleared my sinuses for a good 10 minutes!

I came home with every intention of going to sleep early, feeling that my head was now draining a bit. Felt a lot of pressure in my head, especially the right side... and slight pain in my ear. As the night progressed the pain got worse, until I was reduced to crying and practically screaming. I only had one Advil in the house (it was 4 in the morning) and had no idea what to do for such an intense earache. I seem to remember getting them all the time as a little kid, and my mother giving us a heating pad, so I lay on my heating pad whimpering for about two hours or so. Every now and then I would have a cough attack which made everything worse. Eventually the pain subsided and I fell asleep.

But even now, my ears are fine, I am still congested and coughing.... okay body, that's enough of this! We really have to get well. I have not danced at all this week and it's been incredibly disappointing.

I've been having some very intense dreams, all of them I think are significant:

1. A dream where I was actually packing or organizing things into boxes and containers. Previously all my dreams seemed to have been about losing stuff or desperately trying to find and get my stuff together. But this one was very calm and at one moment I was rolling up a washcloth and putting it besides a pair of peacock feather earrings (the kind from the 80s!) in a little zipper-case thing. Significant because I think it means I am integrated and "putting everything where it needs to go" inside. Peacock feathers are symbols of compassion, so this might also suggest having compassion for myself.

2. A dream where I was holding a baby, then saw a very small dog about to be attacked by a larger dog (who happened to be a robotic dog, but, oh well) and I scooped him up too- soon my arms were full of babies and puppies that I was rescuing. Significant because I think it symbolizes me collecting lost parts of myself, and taking care of them.

3. This morning's dream of being in a strange (Arabic) village and doing laundry- scrubbing out some sweaters in a bathtub. It was again more of a process of organization, and obviously signifies cleansing of some sort. The dream dictionary says:

"To dream that you are doing your laundry, suggests that you are cleaning up your act or change your image. You are concerned about how you appear to others.

To dream that you are sorting the laundry, indicates that you are trying to understand your own feelings and sorting your attitudes.

To see or be in a bathtub in your dream, suggests a need for self-renewal and escape from everyday problems. You need to rid yourself of the burdens that you have been carrying."

That seems about right. Now if I only I could breathe out of both nostrils! And I will be going to work today, Diary, oh yes I will! I need the money before the holidays, so it's not really a question of preference. There is a dance class tonight, but I really don't know if my energy level will improve by then. :(


[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~