2008: a year in review [ 2009-01-02, 4:14 a.m. ]

#1. What did you do in 2008 that you'd never done before?

I started seeing my own destructive patterns in a new way. I don't think I really did anything physically different...

#2 Did you keep your new year's resolutions and will you make more for next year?

I didn't really make any resolutions... I did have the intention to work on myself, which I did do. I'll probably keep doing that in 2009, too...

#3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope.

#4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nope.

#5. What countries did you visit?

Dammit, I knew I forgot something!

#6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

A boyfriend. True love.

#7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

February 29th. When M called and told me I was beautiful and he wanted to give me everything, but at the end of the conversation he said he wanted to see other people. It felt like my biggest rejection to date and it felt like shit.

#8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I lived through 2008! At many points I was seriously considering killing myself. Not to sound overly dramatic or anything, but it's true.

#9. What was your biggest failure?

I can't seem to shake this depression.... I so wanted to be over all these things. But what I resist, persists, it seems.

#10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Just this physical illness which I've been suffering with for the past 22 days... and the injury of a broken heart. Haven't lost my sense of humor though...

#11. What was the best thing you bought?

A really cute yellow shirt. Strappy cork sandals.

#12. Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed?

Well, M's obviously. But also Gail who is supposed to be my good friend. This year I realized how self-centered and uncaring she can be.

Also, all my friends who keep having sex without any birth control. WTF, people?!

#13. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My best friend Red, who really took care of me when I was down, and pretty much suicidal. And my sister Delia for treating me to a visit with her.

#14. Where did most of your money go?

School, and travel- to get to school.

#15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Riding a horse!

#16. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a. happier or sadder?

Not sure. Still pretty sad, but less suicidal.

b. thinner or fatter?

Now I'm fatter!

c. richer or poorer?

Uh... probably poorer!

#17. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Dancing.

#18. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Eating sugar!

#19. How did you spend Christmas?

With my parents, and doing a lot of cooking.

#20. Did you fall in love in 2008?

No. I stayed in love with the guy that left me in 2007.

#21. How many one-night stands?

Zero!

#22. What was your favorite TV program?

Scrubs.

#23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I hate Alphie and Grace with a renewed passion...

#24. What was the best book you read?

Hmm. I can't even remember, I read so many books! I like all the studying I did.

#25. What did you want and get?

I got accepted into my second training which I didn't think was going to happen...

#26 What did you want and not get?

I wanted to get back together with M, and we haven't spoken since March 2008.

#27 What was your favorite film of this year?

Wall-E.

#28 What did you do on your birthday?

I had a big party where I suspended my depression for a full 3 hours.

#29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

To have a lasting relationship.

#30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

I realized I'm still wearing clothes from 10 years ago. However I did get a great haircut, started wearing makeup and jewelry more often. I think I got cuter.

#31. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Jason Statham. Oh, those white boys!

#32. What political issue stirred you the most?

I knew Obama would win the election... and that was incredibly hopeful and stirring... and I am deeply disappointed by Prop 8.

#33. Who did you miss?

Duh. M! And my Grandma a lot. I wish she was here to talk to.

#34. Who was the best new person you met?

Evelina... even though I haven't talked to her in months...

#35. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

I learned that I can't hide from myself...that I really have to own everything about me... because it eventually comes back to bite me in the ass.

#36. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

"Fare thee well my bright star..."
and
"Turn my grief to grace..."

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~