why I hate houseguests [ 2009-01-23, 10:26 a.m. ]

#2

Dear Diary,

Last night Howard stayed over because he needed to get to the airport early this morning. I woke up at dawn and it was only later that I came out to discover the damage he had done.

Okay, not extreme damage. But just messiness, and inconsiderate, I believe. Trust me, I am a houseguest in many people's homes, and if anything I do my best to keep my stuff in one, compact place, clean up after myself, and help out where I can.

Before going to bed, I left Howard clear instructions that if he should decide to take a shower in the morning, he could take the handwashed laundry I had hanging over the bathtub, and hang it in the kitchen beforehand. Apparently he did not do that because he left me a note saying that two of my dresses "fell in the shower as I was taking them down." This is confusing to me- was the shower already on? Was he in it? It kind of grossed me out to think of my dresses falling into the water that had recently rained over Howard's skinny, hairy body (my shower does not drain quickly and usually the person is standing in at least an inch of water), so I decided to wash them again.

Also the tub was disgusting, with a lot of hair and soap that had broken in half on the tub floor. And two hairs which looked suspiciously like pubic hairs on the bathroom sink. Ew. Now I know men do not usually possess an eye for cleaning, but as a guest I believe it's always polite for someone to give things a quick wipe-down just to be safe. I am also suspicious that Howard used my loofah gloves. Hello?! Those are mine, for my body... my face... please don't use them.

Howard also left the couch a tangle of sheets and blankets. He could have at least folded them up... like was he really thinking I'd be happy to get up and unmake his bed for him? I don't know if it's a typical male attitude that someone is going to be your mommy and clean up after you... but maybe it is my own fault, because I tend to coddle Howard a bit too much.

I know in other ways he tried, like he hung his used towel and washcloth on a hanger. All I really need to do if he stays over again is to ask him to please rinse the tub out after he uses it and to unmake his bed. Still, there is a bit of annoyance in the fact I have to tell him so.

Right now I'm writing out my respective thank you's to all the people I stayed with last week.

See, I told you I'm a good houseguest!

As for the party, I decided I'm just going to roll with it, and let the user comes if he wants. If anything I might get the chance to point out that he IS a user, and hasn't treated me very nicely.

Might be good for my confrontation problems.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~