penguin of the house [ 2009-02-02, 9:42 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Well, I don't know.

I had plans today... plans to go to the bank, the library, meet Bethany, and go to Ginny's presentation because when Ginny moves out of this area, she might hire me to take over what she's been doing here.

Only, I don't know- I crapped out. Big time. Somehow ended up sitting in front of the computer all day. FB sucked me in for a few hours at a time. Soon it was too late to go to the bank and/or go meet Bethany, and finally I just gave up. I still have a general ache in my stomach, which I can use as an excuse, but the real reason remains: I am lame, and I get stuck in some kind of resistance, and I don't move.

The good part of today is that Smitten called, and we had a nice, long conversation. The guy is a freak, I can tell, but not in a bad way- weird like me. I hadn't really thought I'd meet another crazy kind of guy... kind of like M... we used to joke that we were like aliens, and M would say to me, "I like your brand of crazy."

An example is that Smitten called me, I was on the other line and when I called him back he answered in a high-pitched voice with a Monty Python accent. I said, "Oh hello, is this the lady of the house?" and he said, "No, it's the penguin of the house," It was so random and completely took me off-guard, like something I would say! I just laughed and laughed and I was stumped. That hardly ever happens.

Well that's kind of how Smitten feels to me... he's a little nutty, travels around a lot and does all kinds of things, doesn't really stay in one place and seems like a jack of all trades. We also have a few things in common as far as what interests us... he's really into yoga and seems like a spiritual guy. He's 8 years older than me, but looks younger than his age... he's a vegetarian and doesn't do drugs, and the more he learns about me, the more he seems to like me. Could be worse, I suppose. He's not really the kind of guy I would pick out of a crowd, but, then again, I suppose we tend to be attracted to people who will give us the most trouble and teach us the most lessons. Literally, I met Smitten and Swing at the same party and was focused primarily on Swing because of those stinkin' blue eyes, but look what they did for me... nothing!

So, anyway, seems like Smitten is very sweet, and he's coming into town on Wednesday, and says he is excited about seeing me. So that's something to look forward to.

Elliot called and was wondering if I would be in his part of town today because he wants to give me a candle for my bath time. I have been taking baths every night. I do think it's sweet that even though we decided our relationship is not moving forward in an intimate kind of way, that he still wants to give me a gift. Granted, I know he already posted a writing about his sexcapades on his blog... so he's not hurting for physical love.

I stopped by Albert's to pick up a movie that he had borrowed for me. I want to bring it with me to show Keith when I am there. Albert made me a cup of tea and we watched a little television- didn't really say much, and I was distracted by how I had not kept my word to either Bethany or Ginny, so... I just came home, called the airlines again, still having trouble... now I'm all pissed and grumpy and my belly still hurts, but I'm getting in the tub.

Grrr.


[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~