less sleep, tricky phone calls, and bad tv [ 2010-04-01, 11:52 a.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Last night I was having a leeetle trouble falling asleep, maybe dropping off around 2:30am.

That's later than it is has been in a couple of weeks, and I'm trying not to worry about it.

It might have been because I made the mistake of answering the phone when Gail called. She was actually out at 10:30pm, which is surprising because normally she's the kind of person who goes to bed at eight and wakes up at dawn.

But I guess she went out and partied with some people and she was just monologuing on the phone, blah blah blah, once again I am astonished that she can talk that long seemingly without taking a breath. I wonder what happens when we get cut off, she must just keep going and not know I'm there. During the time I'm on the phone with her I mute myself, go to the bathroom, eat something and brush my teeth, put my pajamas on and check my email without saying a word or contributing anything to the conversation.

Damn.

I think her energy is just a little too harsh for me and especially when I am already tired and thinking about going to bed... also she seems a bit competitive and whenever I tell her I'm going to do something, she has to one-up me by telling me her next plan. I know she might be a bit envious or jealous of me going to study with Serena because she loves Serena. Also when I told her about the seminar I want to do in July, she acted like she was already doing those studies on her own. But I am quite sure they don't work the same when one is just doing them solo.

In any case, it doesn't matter, I was just trying to get all my phone calls out of the way yesterday because I had put them off from Monday and Tuesday, insisting it was my day off. But when I am tired I should just turn my phone off around 10 or 10:30pm because I think I have to start relaxing for bed. And Gail does not relax me.

There was a woman who called me the other day, she is a former client and she said she had something great to tell me- I figured she had made some new development or something- I hadn't heard from her in forever. Instead it turned out to be one of those sneaky situations where you just haven't heard from anybody in a long time and they call you acting all chummy but really they are calling you because they just got involved in this pyramid marketing scheme and they're selling some new product and looking for more customers or people to put under them- real shitty. And without warning too- here I thought she was just going to tell me some story and she tells me to go on the internet and watch a short introductory video to the product- I was a bit peeved being as exhausted as I've been and basically BUSY- so the deal was I was supposed to watch the video and she would call me in ten minutes. Never did she even ask me if I had time to do that.

So I just made the rest of my calls during that time and when she called me back I was on a call with another client and I didn't pick up. I finished the other work I had to do and called her back a half hour later and told her I wasn't interested nor did I have the time to try and invest myself in a whole new business. I should have told her it was a shitty way she was going about it too, but I didn't. It might not have come out so nice.

I took a shower and got myself together and went to see Emily who was in town for one day. Steffy joined us and we went out for a little snack. Steffy talked about Matt and filled Emily in on that. Emily says she's coming back here in the summer- basically she is saying that she doesn't want to live with Mr. G if they don't get married. Mr. G has told her he doesn't believe in marriage, so, it seems that is that. But even if she comes here Emily is saying she won't break up with him, she's not nervous and convinced they will be together forever and there are no problems between them and he probably is just saying that because everyone in is family is divorced and he is different and sensitive and blah blah blah.

It's a little "protest too much" for my taste and I am convinced that Emily is fooling herself in a big way. In my experience if a man says he doesn't want to marry you it is best to believe him rather than think you can magically change his mind through your love or your pussy or whatever you think you've got that is so all-damn powerful. Not to mention Emily once again said she has gone off the pill and "hopes" she doesn't get pregnant- meaning that she doesn't have the balls to insist that Mr. G take on the birth control responsibility and wear a condom. She is putting herself in a victim spot and talking a little too loudly and fervently about how everything is okay, maybe secretly hoping she will get pregnant and force Mr. G into a decision.

Bad move, bad, bad move.

Shockingly enough Steffy seems to be the more sensible one holding her ground with Matt, saying they've done the dating thing long enough and if they are not moving forward she is not really interested. I am really proud of her.

I was already tired around 8:30 and wanted to head home, but we ended up chatting a bit more and then finally split up.

I ordered the show "The Office" on Netflix. I watched a bit of the original British version a few years ago and found a hard time getting into it. I also don't really care for the American version. Which is surprising because I usually like Steve Correll. But, there is something about it that just doesn't appeal to me- he is just a bit TOO goofy, it is just not clever enough, and the awkwardness is more awkward than funny. The best show ever done in that style was Arrested Development, and nobody has been able to duplicate that humor since. It was also canceled because it was just too clever for Americans.

Maybe, maybe today I'll get my laundry done.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~