more than a mortal woman should do [ 2010-04-10, 7:45 p.m. ]

Well Diary,

I've been doing more running around that any mortal woman should do.

Yesterday I made myself get up early because I knew it was a full day. I did some work on the computer, went to the bank and the copy place. Talked to my accountant. Went to work for two hours. The client I was working with made no bones about how different I look from my picture. I'm not sure if that's a good or a bad thing. In any case, I provided, he paid, so whichever.

After that, looked in the book store for a gift for my colleague- didn't find what I was looking for. Headed back toward home to stop at the restaurant for a hurried meal and to borrow Simon's GPS. To the shoe store I had stopped at on Wednesday night, because I decided I would buy those incredibly comfortable shoes even though the straps aren't really what I'm looking for. Was disappointed that not only was the extremely nice salesman who had helped me before not there, but instead the hardly-helpful, bitchy gum-chewing girl told me they didn't have my size. And she was no help in offering any solutions or knowing if they might be getting more. I guess somebody had bought the pair I'd tried on two days ago. I felt so deeply depressed all of a sudden, more by her shitty attitude than anything else.

I went to buy train tickets for the next day, and to another store to try again for a gift for colleague. Picked up a CD and hope that's sufficient. Realized I was going to be late for work- ran to the office, client was late anyway so that was alright. Got back 10pm and went to the grocery store to buy supplies for Sunday's presentation. Endless.

At home I finished up computer work, took a shower and tried to sleep. Woke up a few times as I am wont to do when I have a big day the next day- was feeling nervous about things going well- more nervous about the travel than anything else. Got up at 7:30, breakfast, cooked and packed lunch. Train, bus, rental car. Work- okay. More rental car- tried my best but with the traffic I returned it five minutes late. I think I'll still be fined... oh well. More bus, more train- heading to the birthday party.

Spoke with Nia on the phone, she and Lee are having lots of arguments. She gets overwhelmed with two kids, and Lee won't offer to help. He basically ignores any situation until it has spiraled out of control, kids and Nia crying and then he bursts in and yells at Nia that she has to get herself together. She feels like a bad mother and totally belittled and unaided by Lee. I feel bad for her, I have witnessed first hand that Lee is not as present and helpful as he believes himself to be.

So tired now, but I still have to go to this party- I might actually take a taxi home. It's important to my colleague that I show up.

Tomorrow will be a long day too, but then two days off!

I'm really wishing for some chocolate!

Love, Duck

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~