hard edges [ 2010-07-07, 5:29 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Well the days have been rolling by. Roc and I spoke on Monday night and he was willing to "help" me pack over the phone. I thought that was exceptionally sweet.

I asked him to call me at 8am to wake me up. Luckily I also set my alarm because he didn't call. I was disappointed. He called after 8:30 and apologized saying he had gotten into a conversation with his roommate and lost track of time. Okay- but I need to be wary of men who lose track of time.

Yesterday was six hours at the pt job, then hurry home to get ready for a client (who was almost an hour late but that's ok it gave me time to relax, plus I earned more than what I make in a week at pt job after taxes...

In the evening I got in bed and noticed that Roc had called to wish me goodnight. So points for that as well. It was too late to call him back, so I just went to sleep.

This morning I actually called his roommate but got him on the line instead. So we chatted a little, he has a building job that he has been working which I can't even imagine in this current heat. He told me he would be on FB at lunchtime, which is how we spent a good part of yesterday. But I didn't see him on there today, maybe because we had lunch at different times. And I actually ate in the break room today and not at my desk. So most likely he will call me tonight. We'll see... if he is truly serious about me and can keep it up! I told him I wanted to go camping when I get back from my seminar and he said we could make that happen. Only thing is, pretty much whatever we do for the rest of the summer will also involve his teenage daughter.

It is all good, she is a cool girl and seems mildly amused by me. I was prepared for her not to like me at all. I realized that the only other guy I ever dated with a child was Frank, and Frank's daughter was super-possessive of him. They had a very enmeshed relationship, for instance his daughter wanted to get matching tattoos with him and she used to wear all the clothes in his closet, including his underwear. I knew it was fucked up at the time but seeing Roc with his daughter just reminds me how messed up that was with Frank... Roc and his daughter seem to have good enough boundaries and she seems to be able to accept that her dad has relationships with women- like she knows she is the daughter and will always be- none of that clinging to him stuff. They are appropriately affectionate... and the night he wanted me to sleep in his bed I said, but your daughter's here, and he said she knows I like you, we talk... well I thought that was kind of cute and impressive that he told his daughter about me.

In any case I am just kind of happy that she's all right with me so I've already been thinking of things to do and places to take her if they come out here. Guess deep down I really just want people to like me!

But first I have to get through the next few weeks... I spoke with Stacey today and she says her husband actually seems happier since they have talked about getting a divorce (bottom line is probably just that he'd like to get out and have sex). Stacey wanted to pick me up on Friday but then announced that we would be staying in the city- apparently she has plans for a sleepover for her son, K5. I don't think Stacey gets that I don't like getting off a plane and a) being whisked off to a bar to party with her drunken friends, or b) go sleep at some stranger's house. I think the girl lives her life in such a chaotic whirlwind that she can land wherever, do whatever. I am always tired or dehydrated or needing some transition time. That's the way that I am.

Emily texted me today, I have a feeling she really DOESN'T ever listen to my voicemail messages... so I really don't feel bad about being lax in regard to plans with her. She always just goes along and if someone fits into her plan, great- if not, she never really makes much of an effort. So be it...

And I forgot to mention that I discovered something: remember the woman who was a real pill about changing my product without asking and couldn't understand why I would be upset? Turns out that a few days after her 26th anniversary her husband moved out and shacked up with another woman. Not saying anything bad about women that happens to, but, she was a pretty miserable person and her husband was also running interference for her so the rest of the world could deal with her. So I guess she is
a hard person to get along with, maybe she will learn something about that. Or maybe not. It doesn't really make sense that she wrote me an email in a sisterly tone, I mean I did say I was sorry to hear that because it is a horrible thing to happen to anyone, but we have never been FRIENDS. But maybe her hard edges have been worn down through this experience....

We all need a little bit more lovin', don't we?

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~