no middle setting [ 2010-11-17, 8:31 a.m. ]

Dear Diary,

On my way home today. Monday was a long day, as now that Nia and Lee are both working full time there is no car for me to borrow. So I had to take a series of public transportation devices to get to Serena's class. I also had to get up at 6am to do this.

Class was okay and good overall because Grace was not there, I don't know why. Then I stayed after class for another study group. It was fun interacting with new people and also people I like but hardly ever see.

The tough part was that I have had a feeling of "coming down with something" since early last week but I have been pushing myself to work and get everything done. For the last several days I have had a sore swollen throat and I think the long day on Monday just did me in. On Tuesday I woke up barely able to swallow and feeling like complete crap. Thomas and Gia were both working, so I lay around all day, reading and at one point I watched a movie. Then Gia and I went to see David, which was a great idea... I knew if he just adjusted my neck and gave me acupuncture I would feel better, and I was right. He also gave me some pills because he said I tested for strep throat. I went to bed at a fairly decent hour and woke up feeling even better, so I am on my way...

Also nice this morning was a text from G, asking if I'd be free to talk this weekend. Makes me feel good to have him reach out to me.

I also got feedback from the Shelby situation from Gia. When I explained our conversation to her she told me that in her experience Shelby doesn't really know how to be friends. I remember several people telling this before, even Shelby himself. Many people experience Shelby as unable to relax and get out of the "teacher" role. It seems like he has two settings: intimate sexual partner or teacher, but there's no middle setting that can just meet people on a casual level and be human. I guess I forgot about that and figured that since Shelby and I had such an intimate connection it would carry over into an easy friendship- and I was wrong. It makes it less painful to understand that he's like this with everyone and it is nothing personal.

I hope I can recupe enough to work this week, and then I am really looking forward to the holiday break!

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~