last day of vacation and the kindness of strangers [ 2011-03-16, 1:21 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

The last day of my vacation- so far pretty good. I caught the usual bus into town. Unfortunately the two dresses I liked have been sold (or maybe that's fortunate- now I don't have to spend the money!). In any case, maybe it's all good because the reason I was hesitating about buying them was because they were empire waist and I often doubt if that is the best cut for me. I have so many curves that a dress that highlights my waist is always better. So maybe if I continue with my no-sugar diet and lose a few pounds I can treat myself to better clothes. There's always hope!

Also I have been looking for a wedding present for Steffy but there is really nothing here that is authentic or beautiful that I would want to give her. So I might paint a dish for her back home. There is a pottery place in town where you can decorate your own stuff, Steffy loves to cook and I can imagine she would really like to have something handmade.

Keith seems to have calmed down quite a bit so that is better. I called Thomas yesterday and he and I had a good talk. He is really scared about what is happening with his relationship to Gia. We talked about things we are scared about. He also loves this area and somewhere along the line we said let's take a vacation here together sometime. Thomas has a friend that we could stay with (who's probably more stable than my friends here) and we like to do a lot of the same things so...I think it would be a blast. We would probably have to rent a car but we could split that and in the end it would be worth it, because I have learned that depending on other people for rides can really suck.

Case in point: Keith was really encouraging me to call a friend of his (that I had never met) and hang out with her because she really, really, wanted to meet me. I was a bit resistant because everyone I meet here seems to be crazy. But yesterday I finally relented and called her on the off chance she would want to go to the beach I like, which is not possible to get to by bus. She seemed relatively sane, and she brought up going to the beach, so it was her idea. However as soon as we arrived she got some phone call she needed to take so she waved me on. I sat and swam for 45 minutes on my own before she appeared. I told her I needed to get the 5:30 bus and she seemed disappointed and contracted, but I felt like it wasn't my problem that she had chosen to spend 45 minutes of her time with me on the phone with her boyfriend. Besides, it took me 2.5 hours to get home anyway by bus once the layover and walking were factored in, so even though she was kind of implying I should take the last bus, I'm glad I insisted on the 5:30.

There's more to write... but I'll have to add more later. I'll leave you with this cliffhanger though... G called.

Back soon!

Love, Duck

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~