I've moved out [ 2012-10-01, 4:40 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Just a quick check in... I am all moved out of my apartment as of yesterday!! I know it's been 2 weeks since I updated... during that time I have been packing. Things of course were stressful toward the end, but not too crazy... overall I feel like I managed well and did a good job.

Now I am at my parents' house. Last night, as my father and I were pulling into the driveway, I was having lots of weird feelings of maybe I made a mistake... I don't know. I really haven't been able to think about anything but the goal of getting out of that apartment! But I try to remember that I really didn't go out of the house all summer and that I was depressed a lot and waking up every day hating my life. And I DEFINITELY don't want to go back to the pt job. And now I can wrap my head around not having to pay rent for a little while...

Today it feels better, not so scary or that I made a huge mistake. I get to see more parts of the world is all, and I can always go back to my city if I absolutely need to. Plus there was a weird thing with the landlord with him complaining that it was going to cost $1000 to repaint my apartment. When I told him I was leaving I asked if he wanted me to repaint white, and he said it wasn't necessary. So I really don't think that it's my problem now. Also he was trying to say there was damage to the bathroom sink and he might have to replace it. There is a dark spot in that sink where the porcelain chipped off, and to tell you the truth I can't remember if it was like that when I moved in 9 years ago, but I definitely don't recall dropping anything heavy in the sink or causing damage... altogether it is the same issue with the landlord which is always a conversation that devolves into him complaining about money but at the same time being very indirect and I'm not sure if he's trying to insinuate that he wants me to pay for something... my dad pointed out that I lived there 9 years, always paid the rent, didn't do any damage to the apartment other than normal wear and tear, never had loud parties, smoking, or drama there... I was trustworthy and responsible so really what are they going to complain about? I even cleaned the place before I left... Bethany, who is a saint, cleaned my whole refrigerator top to bottom... I didn't leave anything in the cupboards or closets except for some Tilex cleaner and a scrub brush that someone else can use, I vacuumed and even mopped to the best of my ability. So my dad says let it go.

So now what? Today I have kind of been in a stupor. My dad rented me a storage area and we put some of my things in there. It's really not much for 9 years! I gave away or threw away all of my furniture, weeded through clothing, books and cds. Everything fits in a storage space about 10 feet deep and 5 feet wide. After we stored stuff we came back to the house, I zoned out on the internet for awhile, walked my mom's dogs and finally started doing some laundry. I guess I am recovering from several days of poor/no sleep!

So that's the latest update... I'll write more when my brain works better.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~