other peoples' relationships [ 2013-06-22, 8:41 a.m. ]

Hi Diary,

Gail apparently has met the next love of her life. She's talked about it for years, how she was going to meet "him", and that she would just know... of course, she met him at work (because she never goes out anywhere to meet people) which means he was a client, and also she slept with him the first day she met him. That is really not how I would do things, but I guess that's how Gail has always done it, and how she thinks relationships are supposed to start. Back when she was wondering where "he" was, I proposed to her that she might want to try things the normal way and just date people and let a relationship develop, she was pretty clear that she didn't really have the belief or the patience for something like that.

On top of being here, at last, "he" is also a doctor, and I guess quite well off. He also lives 2 hours away from Gail and has a busy schedule and can't be with her all the time. So now I am seeing something I have never really seen- Gail is wondering about him, often, because he's not calling her all the time. She actually has been asking for "more connection" which in her book is a very vulnerable thing to do. In my view she is making some mistakes because she is treating this whole thing like a serious relationship already, where in reality they have just slept together 2 or 3 times. I have caught myself with the desire to stop her and say, "Oh don't do that!" just with the knowledge from my own experience... but then I figured, I am not going to say anything. Let her make her mistakes, let her feel needy and just be like the rest of us women have behaved even if we did it back in our 20s... because she has kind of been in control of everything in every relationship she's ever had, and maybe it's time for her to experience something different.

Emily went to visit Steffy and I guess was so impressed and adoring of Steffy's new baby that now she and Mr. G are trying to get pregnant. I still think that whole relationship is ridiculous. He wouldn't marry her, not even so she could stay in the country, because he is afraid of commitment and now they are going to have a baby together? None of it makes sense to me...

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~