screwed [ 2004-02-02, 3:52 p.m. ]

Okay I know I just wrote that big-ass entry back there, but I've got to write another one. Because that money I got from CF? Two checks, and one of them just bounced.

It fucking figures.

So I call her, and tell her there's a problem, and I need this money, plus the money they subtracted from my account when the check bounced. I was all very nice about it in my message.

But I get a scathing voicemail back, wherein CF makes it seem like it's MY fault that the check bounced. Hello? I do have incredible powers, mind you, but this is not one of them. CF insists that I "held onto the check too long" and if I cashed it right away, this wouldn't have been a problem. Um, excuse me, but either you have money in your account or you don't have money in your account. Me cashing the check this week or last week shouldn't be an issue, because if it is, then either way you're bouncing checks.

In a way, the voicemail was very entertaining. Do you know any of these crazy people in your life? Who don't take responsibility for anything? Who will always try to pin it on someone else, no matter how improbable the story?

Well. I was at this point of just thinking about it and observing it, and I called Frank and told him about it. It was the actuality of telling another person that just reduced me to tears. I just want it to be OVER. I quit this job MONTHS ago. I just want the money that I EARNED and I want to walk away. But no, everything has to be this long, drawn-out drama in which CF is the star and I am the scapegoat.

Frank didn't know what to say. He suggested a couple of things, but those things would only work if I was dealing with a normal, semi-healthy individual with a conscious. Not a full-blown sociopath. I felt helpless and a little angry, I don't know if I expected him to fix it. I was totally aware that he couldn't, but far too emotional, so I just said I'd have to call him back. Then I went to the library, and went on a little book binge-- which means I just walked out with a huge stack of books, and immediately felt better.

If I had the money, I would certainly donate to the library, I think libraries are one of the best things ever.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~