in the old neighborhood [ 2012-10-04, 10:01 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Short update because I am on my way to dreamland... I thought I would miss (my former) home more than I do... maybe I will in the future but right now, I like where I am.

True, today was slightly stressful because I felt a lot of pressure from my dad to take care of some boxes of files (so I spent a few hours shredding, which was a drag because his shredder overheats after only a few minutes so there's only so much I can do); while my mom is obviously stressed about my clothes and where will I put everything? So the day was spent shredding documents and doing laundry. It was nice that ZZ stopped by for about an hour and a half and had a cup of tea and talked to my mom about dogs (ZZ knows how to make my mom feel comfortable), but it kind of cut into my day and kept me from getting my work done. I also took the dogs for a walk, vacuumed two rooms and made dinner. I felt like a housewife new mom who stays in her pajamas all day and never goes outside...

I know that every day will not be like this. I just have some projects to take care of.

Last night I visited with my friend Clara. Clara and I grew up next door to each other from the time we were babies. We were best friends till we were almost teenagers (then we kind of went separate ways). Clara has a husband and three kids, and they live a few houses away (she bought a house close to her mom), and... she's totally worn out. I put the pajamas on the little one and read him a story. Then Clara and I walked over to our friend Amy's. Amy also grew up in the neighborhood, up the street with her sister Collette who was also part of our gang. Amy had lived one neighborhood over, but recently got divorced and bought a house around the bend from my parents'. Clara brought a bottle of wine and we sat around and gossiped and did our girl thing. Amy seems really happy with her new life. I felt really happy hanging out with my girls, even though I am really different from them (being the only one of our group without kids, not married, most traveled, many different kind of experiences and interests than all of them).

But I do like it here. I guess there's a reason everyone moves back. Although they have built more houses, it's still like the country. The light is beautiful and there's lots of trees.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~