paper or plastic? [ 2005-11-12, 3:05 a.m. ]

#3

Diary,

If you are sad and feel like your life is complicated and full of shit and you are powerless, one of the best things you can do is clean out your closets.

That's right. I can't remember who said it, but I read somewhere that the state of the floors of your closets are indicative of the state of your life.

In which case, I think I have bugs.

Now we all know about the pesky ants. They never seem to go away. I put out stuff to kill them, but they never come out in full force like they do when a piece of pasta accidently falls on the floor. No, that's when I find a long line of them across my kitchen. It's scary and gross.

But, a couple of times I have seen these weird, light brown bugs that look kind of related to a grasshopper, but they have a million legs. They are ultra freakin' creepy and I've seen them in several sizes: little, medium and too fucking big to be in my apartment. I don't know what they eat or where they come from or what they are called, so I don't know how to kill them, if they would go into a roach trap or something like that. I saw one on the kitchen floor once (a really really big one), a couple on the walls and I think one came out of the closet.

So, a confession: I am quite the packrat. I like to recycle everything and I hate to throw things away. This includes... bags. I feel bad throwing away any bags, paper or plastic, I feel like I should use them for garbage and stuff. But the problem is I go to the store way more than I throw out the garbage. And I forget to bring bags with me to the store. So I just acquire more and more bags.

So I have a shitload of bags... bags inside more bags. The whole floor of my hall closet was full of bags. And someone told me roaches like to live in bags. I've never seen any roaches in my apartment, but I'm wondering if these weird leggy bugs are living in those bags.

So I took my millions of bags and threw them away in one giant bag.

Now this is the most random, boring entry ever, but I feel really good about that. I just threw out every single thing from the bottom of the closet and now it is gone, gone gone.

I have two other closets and I think I will do the same.

When you can't control the people or the situations in your life, at least you can purge your closets.

You should try it, it feels good.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~