seeds et al [ 2009-06-01, 12:16 a.m. ]

Oh Diary,

I know you missed me...

Here I am!

Today I TRIED to sleep in but really couldn't. So I got up, and planted some of my seedlings outside. Now I have many little projects started and sometimes I just like to look at them... I started my seeds earlier than last year. The first time I planted seeds, really, was the first year I was dating M, and it was like an explosion of growth and color. All I wanted to do was plant things and water them and watch them grow. ZZ said, "Well, you'll be pregnant soon." (That didn't happen).

Last year I tried to plant also, but I started a little late in the year, and for some reason some of my plants didn't really take off- I was traveling A LOT that year as well and I don't think my neighbor watered as much as needed- she pretended to be confused as to why my morning glories were all brown and crispy... for some reason they may have been sick, the leaves got yellow and I didn't have a lot of blooms.

Now it's June and sprouts are already happening, I am feeling better than last summer (it was a dark time, indeed) and we shall see... I potted some nasturtiums today and they are already standing up straight and happy. Twas funny because I started them as little seedlings inside and the flat part of the leaves were pressed up against the window like kids looking out from the bus... wanting to go outside!

Okay that's something like 4 paragraphs about seeds. I'll stop.

I ate, I cleaned, I showered, and then I "ran" to the organic grocery to get Keith some food supplies... was disturbing today because... Keith is on public assistance, and he asked Amy to check his mail while he was away. He told her that if she saw any mail from Social Services, she should call him right away, and open the letter. Well she did neither- and called today and informed him of a letter that he had ten days to respond to- like two weeks ago. So now, it is quite possible that Keith may get rejected by the system and also lose almost $800 worth of food stamps that he had saved up. You have NO idea how angry this makes me- if you remember Keith was HOMELESS at one time- and working his way back up into feeling safe and somewhat supported- trying to get his life and health in order. Amy really screwed this up- she is a USER- whenever she wants anything from Keith she will whine until she gets it, but he asked her to do one very important thing, and she didn't do it... you know my opinion of her, she is a very selfish girl, probably all wrapped up in her boyfriend and her life of leisure (she barely works, so it's not like she's incredibly busy) and I was pissed. I could tell that Keith was really scared and worried about losing his assistance, which has changed his life in a positive way... I know that basically she is the only "friend" he's got... but geez, some friend!

Later on I left Keith to his business and I went to meet Elliot. He had called me earlier in the afternoon and asked if I'd like to meet up and go out. I said yes, and put on a dress and makeup and did my hair. First I stopped off at his apartment and used the bathroom, which is something I always do and it has become a joke with me and his ex-girlfriend (whom he still lives with). I had a nice conversation with his ex, then used the bathroom again. Elliot took me out to dinner, he picked the place, and I even let him order for me. It was nice not to be in charge of anything. Then afterward we went across the street and ordered a piece of cake, and he ate most of it but I had a bite or two. I actually had a really nice time. He was doing all the masculine stuff I like, and he paid for everything. He told me how pretty I am, which I love- and he loves it too. He says it's nice for him to be able to say that to me and for me to receive it. He says he often dates women that roll their eyes and don't want to hear it. I told him that's because those women want him to tell them they're smart; I already know I'm smart, I want to hear that I'm pretty.

So, back home again, and here we are.

Love,
Duck

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~