irony, phone calls and more cleaning [ 2012-02-05, 2:50 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

I was planning on going to Gail's yesterday. I would have to take a train and they raised the price of trains so it would cost me almost 30 bucks round trip. A little crazy. Especially since she was busy till 2pm on Saturday. We talked on the phone and I guess she was at a dentist's appointment, and now she is getting braces. She really wants straight teeth, which I think is kind of crazy since she is almost 50 now and really, who cares if your teeth are straight? I guess it is a personal thing like plastic surgery and you want to look a certain way. My teeth are not a priority like that, I have some crowded teeth but really my first priority is keeping them in my head and trying not to have cavities.

In any case Gail was saying now she was thinking about working on Sunday because she is all fired up about paying for braces. So I said why don't we just plan on me coming another time, because by the time I get there tonight we will just eat and go to bed, and then if you are working tomorrow and Monday...? Plus I am still not sure if the plumber is coming to my house. Overall it felt good to just cancel the plans, even though I had got up, cleaned my house in preparation for plumbers and packed a bag to go to Gail's.

I decided to keep on going and I cleaned out my junk drawer while I chatted with Marva on the phone. She sounds like her usual mysterious self, which means I just don't know anything much about her. Aside from she did express she is having a hard time getting a friend to pay her back. I can commiserate since I have three people that owe me money and 2 of them have stopped paying or communicating with me altogether. Oh well.

The junk drawer was clean and I moved on to a bag of stuff (I cleaned my table by just throwing everything into a bag) while I called Emily. Emily blew me off last weekend and then when I talked to her at the beginning of the week, she informed me that she went to the doctor and they told her she has hit menopause- at age 37. Kind of shocking, indeed. Anyway, now her tune has changed and she was going to see an herbalist and acupuncturist. Kind of ironic considering our conversation of last week when she was stressing the importance of "real" doctors. In any case, I am all for doing what you want and for what suits each individual for their health. If anything this was a reminder to me that it is just too easy to get stressed out. I don't exactly know the cause of early menopause but I can imagine it is intimately entwined with stress, and I think Emily has been a stressed-out mess since I've known her. She holds a lot of stuff in and pretends to be okay with things that I know she is not okay with. I get the sense that she very rarely tells the truth about how she is really feeling. I am very inspired to get some down time into my own life, and make sure I do things that lower my stress, because I don't need any more health problems.

I still have a pile of cleaning to deal with but at least I feel like I have made some kind of dent. Today I'm going to a dance class and maybe yoga if I feel like it. I just stopped into the pt job so I can say I was here. There's really not much to do.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~