#6 [ 2005-08-10, 9:22 p.m. ]

Hi Diary,

As you may have noticed (and Toast did) I only listed five things on my list of six things that were bothering me yesterday. I did have six things but then I took the last one off figuring it sounded too petty. But now I have been caught so I have to own up to it.

Here it is:

6.)
Why are pretty people so mean? Yesterday I was on the bus sitting next to a girl I know men would immediately think was "hot". She was with two of her friends and she didn't have anything nice to say about anyone on the bus-- yes she was sitting there talking about people riding the bus. I'm sure she had a thing or two to say about me too after I got off. Anyway if you ever really look at a person everyone else thinks is beautiful, sometimes you can break it down and just see eyes and nose and chin and it starts to look more bizarre than beautiful, and you think to yourself, what is it about this combination of features that is so valued above everyone else.

That's my #6. Mean pretty people. It just struck a chord with me because everyone on the planet thinks my friend Aleda is one of the most beautiful women they've ever seen and of course they have to tell me about it, thanks, everyone, rub it in. And it's hard to be Aleda's friend, not just because she is beautiful and when we walk down the street no man can take his eyes off her and no one even looks at me and I have relegated myself to position of funny yet dumpy sidekick, but, because Aleda is pretty mean on a regular basis. Like the girl on the bus, she has a critical comment about everyone and everything, other women's clothes and hair and well doesn't that girl ever think about electrolysis and I wouldn't wear shorts if I was THAT girl, those kind of comments. I wish she would just leave it alone, we can't all be perfect like her. Not to mention she thinks everything revolves around her anyway... I don't know if that's a product of being pretty or just something else from her upbringing, but it's tiresome.

And after I typed that entry I realized it's not fair because I'm sure not all pretty people are mean, it just seemed that way to me yesterday. So I erased #6. But I guess I am just tired of the emphasis society puts on looks and I can't imagine that a person would rather be in a relationship with a pretty mean girl than a nice average one.

Messed up, no?

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~