fall in a hole [ 2006-07-06, 12:09 a.m. ]

Dear Diary,

I have had two responses to my profile so far. Bachelor #1 has responded once before and is still too young for me. He knows he's not in my age range but somehow thinks he can convince me to date him. If he was cuter, it might work. But, I cannot handle a teenager, and that's what men in their twenties are to me.

Bachelor #2 is a little closer to my age and has tattoos. Whoo-hoo! Well, we can see if we have anything in common.

Today I didn't choke Aleda even thought I wanted to. Emily went away for a business trip and gave me her keys to water her plants. Somehow Aleda found out about this, and asked me if I had Emily's keys. I said yes, figuring that maybe Aleda left something at Emily's house. No. Turns out Aleda wanted the keys to go over to Emily's house and watch some DVDs. I guess her roommates have their TVs in their rooms, so Aleda doesn't have a TV. Emily's place is significantly closer than mine.

I said, "well, did you ask Emily? " Aleda of course got an attitude and said, "she didn't email me back." I can only guess that this is because Emily is out of the country and not checking her personal email. But, apparently, Aleda's reasoning is that since she hasn't heard from Emily, it's the same as having permission. Like it's Emily's problem for being busy off working and not taking care of what Aleda needs here at home. I felt like she was putting me in a really difficult position because it really was not my choice to make. I also felt responsible for Emily's keys and house, and I didn't want to just casually hand over that responsibility to somebody else! I started second guessing Aleda's reasons for needing to watch a DVD RIGHT NOW, rather than waiting for Emily to get home. Like maybe she was trying to hook up with a guy or something. But turns out she wanted to do some research for a job she is trying to get. Okay. I figured, it would be all right if I was there too.

Once we got there, we couldn't figure out how to operate the DVD player. Emily has about 5 remote controls. Aleda called Steffy and she came over and figured it out. Aleda was annoyed and said, "I guess she just figured we would know how to use the TV." I had to remind her, "Emily didn't give me the keys so we could come over here and watch TV." Which just prompted more attitude from the queen. Meanwhile Aleda is in the kitchen searching for things to eat. I could not believe her audacity! The ironic thing is, Emily asked Aleda to help her with a small errand before she left for her trip, and Aleda said she was too busy... well if I made a list of things Emily has done for Aleda, it would be quite a long one, let me tell you. When it comes to Aleda, everything is top priority and practically an emergency. But nobody else's needs matter. If I had known any better, I would have said I didn't have the keys.

I will have to check with Emily when she gets back if all of this was okay. I felt obligated to be responsible and at the same time kind of bullied by Aleda, as if suggesting that she get permission somehow questioned what kind of friend she was to Emily- like, "Well, why WOULDN't Emily let me use her TV? What are you saying?" type of thing. And just Aleda's selfishness in putting me in that awkward position anyway.

Truthfully I don't think Emily would care. She let Aleda and her sister stay at her place for two weeks last summer while she was gone, otherwise I wouldn't even have considered it. But, I still think that Aleda takes her friends for granted. She and Alphie SHOULD run off and have little selfish babies.

Alphie has been text messaging me how much he LOVES me. Too little, too late. I have a feeling he is preparing to ask for something, and trying to butter me up. I think he wants to come back here and work at the end of the summer.

Everybody is so grabby!!! Argh!!! I miss Emily. She is my one good good friend. Also I am hanging out more with Tamara, and that is good, because she is genuine and we have a lot in common. Maybe Aleda will fall in a hole soon.

Love,
Duck


[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~