stupid IMs [ 2008-09-04, 1:01 p.m. ]

Just an example of what I am dealing with in the online dating world. After a few mind-numbingly boring minutes of IM from some posturing guy that is going nowhere, I figure I have the question that will encourage my non-matches to leave me alone. A dealbreaker- are you a spiritual person or not?

ME: Do you have a spiritual practice?

HIM: Yes

ME: What?

HIM: I practice Karma

ME (thinking, okay this guy is full of shit): What does that look like?

HIM: It's very calming and spiritual

ME: Like meditating?

HIM: Yes, Madonna practices it too... what is your name

ME: You mean Karma as in a concept in Hinduism which explains causality through a system where beneficial effects are derived from past beneficial actions and harmful effects from past harmful actions, creating a system of actions and reactions throughout a person's reincarnated lives?

HIM: Yes

ME: Karma is a belief, not a spiritual practice
ME: Madonna practices Kabbalah
ME (being nicer than I could): I don't think we're on the same page, nice chatting with you though, good luck

HIM: I've been practicing for 10 years it's really wonderful


*out*

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~