the unexpected [ 2008-09-03, 10:31 p.m. ]

Dear Diary,

An odd thing today... was running to meet Steffy for dinner and guess who I ran into on the street? Aleda!

Actually I confess that I saw her first and was hoping I could just keep walking. But she called my name and I feigned surprise. She told me she had come back into town a couple of days ago to take care of some legal things, and would be leaving again this weekend. We chatted for a bit- when I told her I was on my way to meet with Steffy, I thought I detected something strange there. Although it was a surprise to be standing there, I found I felt she was genuine in being pleased to see me, and I didn't feel my usual resentment for her... so that was good. Because I didn't know what else to say, I suggested lunch. She said she could only do tomorrow, and why didn't I come to a dinner with some of the other girls. I told her to call me, and she told me her battery was dead... I don't know why that should be a problem. So I said I would call one of the other girls about it.

I met up with Steffy and one of her roommates, and we cooked dinner in their apartment. It was not only delicious, but really nice to be in their company and working together to make a meal. The whole of tonight was last minute, because I text-messaged Steffy and she invited me over. All I had done today was read in the park and try to get myself together... feeling so sad, and so confused about everything.

I told Steffy about meeting Aleda, and here again I detected something... something off. Later in the evening I asked if Steffy had spoken to Aleda, and she said no. She said that she had not been included on Aleda's email list which detailed her travel and kept in touch with her friends. Well obviously I am not on that list either... I can only assume something happened between the two of them. But it's impossible to get anything out of Steffy... she refuses to gossip and plays her cards very close to her chest.

We went out for cones later on, and these older men started joking with us. They were nice guys who were traveling, and offered to show us pictures. Steffy's roommate was very interested to talk to them and see their pictures especially since they had traveled through her hometown, they were sweet and harmless and probably just enjoying our youth and beauty, but Steffy was a real pill. She kept saying how she had to get home, and so we did leave. Sometimes Steffy gets uptight in the most innocent of circumstances, and I can't help but wonder if something really bad happened to her at one point or another.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~