so much I can stand [ 2009-05-22, 11:51 a.m. ]

Okay, I feel that I definitely understand the plight of most married women. You clean something, and then your husband (or the man you live with, whatever), completely messes it up. He leaves water splashed all over the bathroom, his whiskers and flossing detritus in the sink, his hair in the drain, dirty dishes piled up, clothes all over the floor. He does not notice when the garbage pail is overflowing, because he just keeps throwing shit in there. You do the dishes yourself, because even after much prodding, you know he will not exactly do them well, and you'll just end up re-doing them. You find yourself hating the sound of your own voice, because you are always agitated, asking him to please do this or do that, things that are so OBVIOUS to you, but he is OBLIVIOUS (isn't it funny how obvious and oblivious almost look the same?)

Today Keith was like, "You're standing on my shirt," Uh. Why is your shirt on the floor? I realized what I do not like about houseguests- I don't like houseguests that don't clean up after themselves. I mean, okay, you are a guest, you can stay over, have a shower, a place to sleep. But this is not a hotel. I do not want to constantly be wiping up after you. And after a certain amount of days (about 5, I would say, in this small apartment), you are not really a guest anymore- you are a roommate. This morning we had not one piece of clean cutlery, glass or bowl. They were just littered all over the counter and sink- Keith keeps saying he will do dishes, but never seems to "get around to it".... another man thing, apparently.

Can you tell I am ready for him to go? I am ready for 4 days of solititude, to not have to clean up after anybody. I suppose if he was my partner, it would be different, because then we could have sex to work off the tension. But, then again, that's why Delia hired a housekeeper to come once a week- she had this problem with her husband Bud, and figured it was worth the money to keep peace in the marriage.

Keith's sister is, of course, late to come and get him. She is like the irresponsible parent in the custody arrangement. She's late to get him, and wants to give him back earlier than previously agreed. I said no.

Well, that's it for now. I just had to vent a bit and get that off my chest. I think I have been MORE than accomodating - he is staying here for almost three weeks. That's a LONG time for two people to share a one-bedroom apartment. There are not that many rules to staying here, just what I feel is common decency when occupying someone else's space. But I know that Keith gets easily freaked out (by vacuums, fans, and me, when I express an upset- so yesterday I just said, "I want help keeping this place neat."- and he got all nervous. Jesus. Just pick up after yourself.)

Maybe I am a bitch. But maybe not. There's only so much I can stand.

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~