when do you get too old to play? [ 2013-01-07, 1:02 a.m. ]

Dear Diary,

Somehow it got to be 1am and I'm not really sure how... I guess reading all one's entries from 2012 will do it.

I have been going snowshoeing. I like it a lot, especially today, because the snow was a lot stickier. I took my mom's dogs and they had a ball jumping through the drifts, tunneling and sniffing everywhere. Then I built myself a snowman in the front yard. I was actually kind of delirious, just really enjoying building a snowman, which I haven't done in probably a good 30 years. I was aware that my neighbors think I am crazy, but when do you get too old to play?

After all this I was so starving that I had to make a grilled cheese with bacon and tomato, which was delicious. I went to see Amy and give her some books I picked up at the Salvation Army. They are kids' books and I think they were 15 cents each, in perfect condition, and seemed right for boys their age. I sat on her big sectional and talked to her and her (newish) boyfriend for awhile. Then I came home and made a cake, which I promptly brought over to the neighbor's when my parents and I went over for dinner... a big meal with tons of vegetables. Our neighbor is Clara's mother and has known me my whole life. She has a tendency to cook every meat in the crockpot and that's just something I know about her. Everything was good though and she had three different kinds of vegetables, mashed potatoes, saurkraut and pork plus olives and pickles on the side. Wow what a good dinner!

Clara and her daughter stopped over for a bit. Clara's daughter is 12 but looks just like Clara did at her age... meaning she is already tall, with breasts, and looks like a teenager. Clara was adopted by our neighbors but they do know that her biological parents and extended family were all very tall, her bio father was 6'5". And I remember Clara getting enormous breasts at age 11.... well her daughter is just like that and I think Clara is feeling some of the pain her parents went through when you have a beautiful daughter!

After dinner I walked some dessert and wine over to Clara's. I drop by her house often because she has three kids and so much chaos nobody minds if I throw myself into the mix. Clara told me in detail about how she fantasizes about having a Tuscany-themed dinner party in her backyard this summer. We looked through her Italian cookbook and picked out recipes we liked. Her husband of course thinks we are crazy, and that we have too many parties. But Clara and I like to entertain.

I took a bath because I was feeling a little sore from the snowshoeing. The only thing I miss about my old apartment is my bathtub. It was big and deep. This bathtub is too shallow for me to be completely covered, and also the hot water is not truly hot. Warm enough, but not blistering hot so that it has to cool down... ever. So it's either my knees or my breasts that are not completely covered by water. My former bathtub was so big that two people could sit in it and eat chocolate cake and drink champagne. Sigh.

Okay, Diary, see you tomorrow.

Love,
Duck

[previous] [next]

Photobucket
S DUCKIE
archives ~ profile ~
~ email ~ gbook ~ notes ~
~ host ~ image ~ design ~